Well I have been busy on my Duster. My husband printer the patterns for me at work, he brought the home rolled up with 2 rubber bands and set them on the couch. The dogs thought it was a toy and attcked the roll I rescued it but not until it had been chewed on the edges. oh well I could still work with it. I unrolled and began to tape together that was going well until I noticed I was missing about a 5 inch strip of printing so had to recreate lines. So after that I then needed to do some size adjustments. The armholes were small and the arms were way to narrow. The back was also to narrow but the bottow was much wider that I thought it would be. I cut lining out for my trial do pretty good made some minor adjustments. I made this out of raw silk with crushed velvet trim, I was lucky it had been given to me alone with quite a few other pieces by one of my customers when she cleaned out her parents house. I chose to add a back belt to pull in some of the fullness, but I did not have enough fabric for a facing. I covered all the buttons with the velvet. Instead of the embroidery I just applied the velvet at a angle on the pockets

About sharonssewing

I have been sewing privately and professionally for 38 yrs, starting when I was just a young child for my dolls. I have 2 children 22 and 19. I lucky to have a large workroom that my daughter and I share, she helps me with many projects. Right now we are working on making 1940's dresses for the WW11 weekend in Reading, PA in June. ,

11 responses »

  1. […] https://sharonssewing.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/1912-duster/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. patty vedros says:

    gorgeous! your work is meticulous. I hope you feel proud.

  3. Beautiful work! You finished everything so nicely.

  4. vwren says:

    I especially love the way you’ve done your trim!

  5. Karen Hustus says:

    Beautiful work! I really like the fabrics that you’ve chosen. You’ll be able to wear that classic style in any century!

  6. Leslie Jones says:

    Sharon that is soooo impressive, beautiful fabric and how lucky you were the recipient because you certainly did it justice!

  7. […]  Ladies Duster by sharonssewing […]

  8. […] https://sharonssewing.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/1912-duster/ Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. […]

  9. You might be interested in my books of Victorian and Edwardian clothing patterns, described on http://www.lavoltapress.com. Best, Fran

  10. hobbysewer says:

    Your coat is beautiful, I am still working on mine, I should have never picked a wool plaid, “what was I thinking”

Leave a Reply

